Code volation

14 Replies

Hi BP, 

I'm quite new to the real estate and rental world. Last year, I purchase my first rental townhouse and I split the master-bedroom into two rooms and rent out to student. But I recently got a phone call for the city saying that I may violate the building code and the occupancy maybe too high (they said that the unit max person allow in the unit is 4, I have 6 students living in the unit). We situation a time next week for them to come take a look. 

Has anyone dealt with a situation like this and will the city force me to reduce the number of occupancy? Because most of my tenants were under 1 years contact. What should I do? Please help. 

Thanks for all your comment in advance!

Johnny

a CALL? thats weird, i would think they'd just show up and try to inspect and if nobody answer then leave notice and/or try calling owner on record to make appt

adding an extra room or even erecting a wall tends to require a permit first & inspection upon completion. 6 students crammed in a what, 1 bedroom unit? yikes! 

i've heard the HUD golden standard/guideline is 2+1 max persons total per bedroom (2 in bedroom area and 1 outside bedroom, max) to me that's too much (2/3 in a 1 bedroom or 5 (or 6?) in a 2 bedroom)

perhaps u can try finding the extra students new rooms for rent? meanwhile u work with the city (Irvine?) towards a resolution of the violations claimed

http://www.cityofirvine.org/cityhall/cd/buildingsa...

hopefully lesson learned- never enter 1 year lease for 'rooming'! if anything, rooming like that should be short term arrangement only

Hi Neil, 

Thanks for your prompt reply and all the tips.  

Actually, it is a 3 bed 3 bath condo, the masterbed is too big (approx 350sqt) so we turn it into two room. It is not that crowded as you may thought.