Standard Snow Removal on Multi-units

6 Replies

I'm somewhat new to Ohio and I'm looking to buy some duplexes (triplexes and quads). I'm wondering what the standard is for snow removal? With a smaller multi-unit, do tenants expect to remove snow themselves or do they expect it to be done by the owner? I know I'm a larger apartment complex they expect the owner to deal with it.

@Aaron Peterson   Welcome to Bigger Pockets!

This question may have been answered in previous forum threads, so use the search tool to find threads that may answer your question.

Also, your question is better suited for the Landlord Forum or Multi-Family Investor Forum. Renters discussion is for renters, not landlords.

@Aaron Peterson

I moved your thread to the landlords forum.

Snow removal ... it will be here before you know it ... .I've already put our RFQ as we were not happy with our service in one city last winter.

In our experience, when it comes to landscaping/lawncare and snow removal, anytime you cannot define where one tenant's domain ends and another begins, the obligation falls to the landlord.

If you have a side-by-side duplex or a row of townhouses where each tenant has their own drive and patch of green, you can hand-off snow removal and lawn care to the tenant ... though you are just as often better served to take care of it yourself and bake it into the rent.

Anytime you have stacked units or a block (such as a small purposely built quadruplex), the parking and green space are common areas (just like stairwells in the interior) and fall to the landlord.

And once you know your situation based on your jurisdiction (see your relevant landlord tenant rules too) layout, and situation, you have two choices: (1) DIY or (2) Hire it Out. 

The snow is coming, so you have to have a plan and not rely on the kindness of strangers (or tenants).