Application question regarding sections left blank.

6 Replies

Hello, if a potential renter has filled out only a portion of the application and has left important information, such as SS, reasons for being convicted, previous employers, no personal references and gross income blank, Can we request for them to resubmit the application with all fields filled out? Thank you, any information is appreciated as I am new to being landlord in the San Bernardino County.

You absolutely should request them to fill it out completely. Those boxes are not there for decoration - but they know this.

There is nothing wrong in telling them that unless they fill it out completely, you will no longer consider them for becoming your tenants.

Just make sure to keep the incomplete app for your records - to protect yourself. And make sure that you apply same rules to all applicants.

Thank for taking the time to reply, and providing me with this information. I just wasn’t sure if there were any laws about being able to ask them to fill it out completely.

No problem. Happy to help. The questions you listed as them having left blank sound like they are questions from a typical rental application - like you did not make one up yourself, where you ask them for the name of their first lover, or how many push-ups they can do in a minute. So, you are good there.

In essence, you must think of yourself as a creditor - the law sees you that way; it is on your side. Just make sure that you do everything the same (legal) way with all applicants.

They know the game. I may have had a slightly different response if all they left out was the SSN.

But what these applicants left out was too significant, especially in aggregate. You should ask them to complete it to be fair. Personally, I don’t expect them to either answer honestly at that point, or be able to pass credit/background check, which you should perform - but only after you have a complete application.