Laminate Flooring; The real truth

10 Replies

Hey BP nation hope everyone is having a good night, I have a question for all you rehabbing gurus! What's the real truth behind the DIY project of laying a laminate floor? I've been told it's so easy, a weekend fixer upper project, yet my husband and I have  are complete novices and are getting some very mixed responses about what this really requires. Removing baseboards, and the use of a miter saw was not on the original plan though now it seems it should've been. We're in Charlotte NC so if anyone wants to recommend someone reasonably priced we would love to get a quote. 

Thanks guys!

Hi Jasmine,

I don't want to think about how much laminate I have put down in my lifetime...far too much I'm sure. It's not for everyone. The majority of this job is simple it's the cutting and initial set up that counts.

To do an exceptional job requires leaving the required room around the parameter for expansion and contraction and this means leaving room around door openings and yes either pulling up the existing baseboard or putting down quarter round when your done. To get the room in the door openings you should undercut the door jambs and plan the way you lay the flooring to enable the flooring to be just under the jamb.

Really not for everyone. One way to save a lot of cutting is buying a laminate sheer. It's now my favourite tool. No dust, very little waist and no need to run outside everytime you have to make a cut.

Good luck with your project.

I just helped my dad install laminate floors at my parent's house and it was the first time either of us have done it. It was relatively easy. but we are both pretty handy. The part that takes then longest is measuring and cutting the boards with a saw to fit certain areas. Once we removed the baseboards, laid down the moisture barrier, and finished laying down the first few rows of laminate it was smooth sailing. I saw go for it!