Problem with circuit breaker that keeps tripping

31 Replies

I have a double 20-amp circuit breaker where one of the breakers keeps tripping (halfway between the on and off position).  The breaker that's tripping controls 4 outlets on a kitchen island.  One of these outlets is a GFCI that has a Keurig coffee maker plugged into it.  The other 3 outlets are regular outlets that have nothing plugged into them. 

The breaker just started tripping about 3 weeks ago, and has tripped about once a week since then (different days/times).  Each time it tripped, the Keurig coffee maker was plugged in, but not in use.  So obviously it's not drawing a big load.

The house is newer (about 13 years old) and there are no other electrical issues.

I'm normally able to fix most of my own electrical issues, but this problem is baffling me.  I have a couple ideas, but wanted to see if any of the experts out there have an idea of what might be going on???

I am not an expert but just had the same problem,yes in my kitchen,yes with gfi,that kept tripping like yours It turned out to be a loose wire on one of the outlets in the series.Check each of the outlets and you should find the culprit

Hi @Kyle J.

How old is the wiring? Could be a loose connection, could also be a faulty GFCI. What brand is the GFCI and how old is it? If you trip the GFCI (not the breaker), do the other outlets lose power like they should?

If it a faulty GFCI, consider replacing it with a normal outlet and install a GFCI breaker. The cost increase ($10-$15) is worth it in reliability. 

If its an older electrical panel, it could be the breaker, although modern breakers go bad on rare occasions as well.

It sounds like you have a ground in the line. Is this outlet in series with others? The insulation on the wire may be worn away or damaged which would require replacement.

The wiring and outlets are original to the house (about 13 years old). The GFCI is a Legrand Pass & Seymour 20-amp outlet.