Should I Start and LLC Before Buying and Investment Property

12 Replies

I am new to real estate investing and would like to buy and hold rentals. I am wondering if it is best to set up and LLC, get a business accounts and business credit cards before actually buying a property? I want to keep my personal finances and rental property finances as separate as possible so I am thinking yes. Any advice or experience with this is awesome! Thanks!

I 100% think setting up an LLC before you invest is putting the cart before the horse. For so many reasons. If you want to keep the finances separate, just create a separate checking account for the rental properties. That's what I have- an account where all the mortgages go out of and all the rental income is deposited into. There's nothing other than rental property money in and out of it. And then an umbrella insurance policy will cover liability issues for the property (which is what everyone thinks they need an LLC for).

The LLC, business credit cards, and businesses accounts are huuuuge overkill when you're just getting started.

It is best to form the LLC first so you can purchase the property in the name of the LLC. However, this limits your financing to commercial loans, because lenders won't give you a typical conventional residential loan under an LLCs name.

Some people prefer buying SFRs and 2-4 units using residential financing, so they get a loan and buy in their own personal name then transferring to their LLC later. However, it's technically a breach of your loan agreement because residential loan agreements have a clause in them that says if you sell or transfer title, the lender can call the entire loan amount due to be paid in full immediately. Google "due on sale clause" to look up the risks. That's why it's preferable to form the LLC and take title in the name of the LLC first. You don't run the due on sale clause risk. But your financing is limited to commercial financing.