Criteria for direct mail

6 Replies

Hi I'm a newbie what criteria should I use for building or filtering a bought list for direct mail to get a good deal on a 2 to 4 unit in San Antonio ? My goal is to find a 2 to 4 unit , and do a brrr .

@Alex Ko I use ListSource to generate leads for my direct mailing campaign. The metrics I stick to are usually:

Owner Equity - 30% or more

Age of Occupant - 45+

Years Owned - 5+ years

Property Type - 1-4 units

Exclude Corporate Owned

Exclude Trust Owned

Ownership Type - Absentee. If not enough records in Absentee add, Homeowners

Hope this helps. Good Luck

@Alex Ko

Before buying a list, make sure the unit filtering you use is pulling the correct data. My county lists MFHs in a weird way, so if I select the way my brain would filter (unit #s) I get inconsistent results.

Research and confirm as best you can before spending the money is my advice.

@Braden Hobbs - that is great advice, and is number one mistake I see people make when pulling lists. Every county is a little different and while all of us service providers do our best to normalize things like property types across counties, there is no perfect formula. For multi-family I regularly see counties where property type works great, but they have no data for number of units, and vice versa. This can vary not only by county, but sometimes even by subdivision. Locally we have a large development where the unfinished lots were all misclassified as single family residential (which typically indicates that there is completed single family own on the property). Public records are the absolute best way to source deals as a real estate investor, but doing it well requires a bit of research.

Thank you so much for the response. Are there any good resources to learn how this funnel should work and how to do Direct Mail correctly to find sellers in a difficult position wanting to sell for under market value?