Votes
Namu Stevenson
  • New to Real Estate
Votes |
Managing Stress and Finance

Namu Stevenson
  • New to Real Estate
Posted Jul 5 2022, 18:34

First time investor here! I've been studying real estate investing for several years now and know it's what I wanna do. My wife however is very new to it but together we bought a duplex that needs a little more than tender love and care.

We both knew going into this it wasn't going to be easy but now it seems that we keep discovering new problems to be fixed (mold, plumbing etc). With each new discovery our rehab budget seems to keep slipping away. Upon discovering more mold during rehab and with little left in our rehab budget, my wife seems like she may be pushed to her breaking point and just wants to sell the house.

Any advice about anything? Handling the stress? Rehab tips? Helping my spouse see the big picture of rehab? Financing?

It just seems very overwhelming without seeing any little reward of our sacrifices yet and any advice to help either of us would be very appreciative!

Salt Lake City, Utah

User Stats

Votes
Jay Hinrichs#3 Starting Out Contributor
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Lake Oswego OR Summerlin, NV
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Lake Oswego OR Summerlin, NV
Replied Jul 5 2022, 18:50

for the mold thats easy bleach and elbow grease is all you need no major issue there. 

as for stress RE does have a lot of that especially flipping  older homes where you never know whats behind the walls.

User Stats

Votes
Kathleen Osborne
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Roanoke, VA
Votes |
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Roanoke, VA
Replied Jul 5 2022, 18:57

Time heals most wounds - even budget wounds. Keep going, rent it out and wait for appreciation. 

User Stats

Votes
JD Martin
  • Rock Star Extraordinaire
  • Northeast, TN
Votes |
  • Rock Star Extraordinaire
  • Northeast, TN
ModeratorReplied Jul 5 2022, 19:26