Sophia Reynoso
Pro Member
Votes |
1st Home evaluation

Sophia Reynoso
Pro Member
Posted Dec 6 2023, 00:57

Hi Everyone! 

Absolute newbie here. I want to put out some feelers on a house I am about to go to take a look at.  It's a 3bd 2 bath 1384 for $419,900 It's close to the local hospital so I am interested in buying this house and hopefully rent to travel nurses. The house is move-in ready with the exception I would like to make updates to the bathrooms and backyard I make an average of $ 80,000 a year and I have $20,000 available for down payment. Does this seem feasible? 

User Stats

Votes
Matthew Morrow
  • Investor
  • Pennsylvania
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Pennsylvania
Replied Dec 6 2023, 03:55

Based on the information you provided, purchasing a house for $419,900 with an annual income of $80,000 and a down payment of $20,000 seems feasible, but it will depend on various factors. Your income is adequate for this price range, but remember that mortgage approval also depends on your credit score, debt-to-income ratio, and other financial commitments.

With a $20,000 down payment, you'll be putting down less than 5% of the home's value, which may require you to pay for private mortgage insurance (PMI) until you've reached 20% equity. This will increase your monthly payments.

Renting to travel nurses can be a good strategy, especially if the house is near a hospital. However, consider the costs of updating the bathrooms and backyard, as these can be significant. Ensure you budget for these renovations and any unforeseen expenses.

It's advisable to consult with a financial advisor or a mortgage lender to get a more precise idea of what you can afford and the best steps to take for your situation.

User Stats

Votes
Thomas Gray
  • Realtor
  • Washington
Votes |
  • Realtor
  • Washington
Replied Jan 24 2024, 11:53