• Highland Park, IL
Votes |
House Hacking in Chicago, IL

Daniel Kaplan
  • Investor
  • Highland Park, IL
Posted Mar 31 2023, 13:38

Hey everyone!

Upon graduating college ( I am currently a sophomore), my goal is to immediately house hack. However, I am most likely going to be working in Chicago at a real estate company. How can I house hack in a market like Chicago? I don't want to live in a dangerous area and the property taxes in Chicago are insane!!!! Any ideas on what I should do here?

User Stats

Votes
Replied Mar 31 2023, 13:47
Quote from @Daniel Kaplan:

Hey everyone!

Upon graduating college ( I am currently a sophomore), my goal is to immediately house hack. However, I am most likely going to be working in Chicago at a real estate company. How can I house hack in a market like Chicago? I don't want to live in a dangerous area and the property taxes in Chicago are insane!!!! Any ideas on what I should do here?

First, look at entire tax burden, not just property taxes.

Second, why must you be in Chicago itself? Try northern Indiana -- cheaper, better schools, lower taxes, short commute by train to Chicago.

Third, what do you know about Chicago if you are set on living in the city itself? Follow the Ls (all of them) and check out neighborhoods. I see a fair amount of potential in the southwest side, near Midway Airport

Fourth, what financial resources/burdens will you have?

User Stats

Votes
Daniel Kaplan
  • Investor
  • Highland Park, IL
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Highland Park, IL
Replied Mar 31 2023, 13:58

@John Clark thank you so much for the response! I am from the suburbs of Chicago and have a great network there. I anticipate getting an internship in Chicago my junior year summer and then getting a return offer - hence why I'd end up in Chicago. Regarding financials, It will not be a problem as I have amassed a generous amount of money from my many ventures. 

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored