Medium-Term Rentals

User Stats

Votes
Kelly Ward
Votes |
1/3 Year in Colorado, 1/3 in STL, 1/3 Travelling

Kelly Ward
Posted Dec 9 2022, 14:28

Hi there, my name's Kelley and I'm new to the BiggerPockets Forum, but I'm hoping for some insight on MTRs!

My husband and I currently manage a rafting company in Colorado between May and September and then take a few months off to travel before returning to STL to spend time with my family. That said, I recently became super intrigued with the idea of purchasing our first home in St Louis and then using it for mid-term rentals (specifically for travel nurses) during the ~6ish months that we're out of state. 

I've been searching through furnished finder to get an idea of MTR rates, and I was surprised to see just how many listings were available throughout the city. I'd love advice on how to stand out amongst so many options! 

What is the average length of stay you're seeing for nurses? 60 or 90 days?

Also curious as to whether anyone has noticed any trends with travel nursing demand increasing/decreasing? 

Thanks everybody!

User Stats

Votes
Conner Olsen
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Austin, TX
Replied Dec 12 2022, 08:53
Quote from @Kelly Ward:

Hi there, my name's Kelley and I'm new to the BiggerPockets Forum, but I'm hoping for some insight on MTRs!

My husband and I currently manage a rafting company in Colorado between May and September and then take a few months off to travel before returning to STL to spend time with my family. That said, I recently became super intrigued with the idea of purchasing our first home in St Louis and then using it for mid-term rentals (specifically for travel nurses) during the ~6ish months that we're out of state.