2016 Crash

11 Replies

I am new to REI and noticed a lot of seasoned investors have been buzzing for awhile about this 2016 crash. What should I be doing as an investor to prepare? I currently am 15 months into a house hack/live and flip deal. I can't cash out until May of 2016 to defer capital gains. Will I be okay? Is this the right idea?? And is it a bad idea to do another deal before next May? Appreciate any other ideas. Thanks!

We can't predict the  future but we can plan for it.  If the market cashes I say bring it on because I will be ready to snatch up the deals from people being forced to sell.

As far as are you ok until May 2016....likely you are because that is a great time of the year to sell property.

When everyone is buying is when you should probably sell & when people are selling is when you should buy!  

Define crash?  I think prognostication has been statistically debunked.  We can only make educated guesses based on  historical norms.

We are due for a recession at some point but its tough to forecast exactly when so why try?

The only prudent course is what is l the likely worst case scenario and plan for that.

Bottom line we were all traumatized by the great recession.   This next correction should be relatively painless by comparison in my most likely scenario model.

@Jacob Casarez

I'm not losing any sleep.  Who are these "seasoned investors" that you're referring to?

I've done 800+ deals and I don't see a crash and would challenge anybody who says there is going to be a crash to document that with evidence.  I call BS.

Seasoned investors like Robert Kiyosaki and Warren Buffett. Kiyosaki has been well documented to have been calling this 2016 crash for years now. Afterall he did call the 08 crash despite being mocked and laughed at by other investors. Now advised investors and Kiyosaki are calling 2016 to be much bigger than 2008. Was just wondering who all is familiar with this??