Skip to content
Real Estate News & Current Events

User Stats

Votes
Marcel Duarte
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Denver, CO
Votes |
Is Increasing Student Debt Driving Home Prices Higher?

Marcel Duarte
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Denver, CO
Posted Apr 26 2016, 17:19

Let me start by saying, I'm no economic expert. I read a lot, but so does everyone else on BP. This is my theory, and I'm interested what all the smart and experienced folks on BP think about it. So here it goes:

Student debt has quadrupled over the last decade. This article shows some stats. Why has student debt gone up? Because the price of education has increased. And the price of education has increased because the demand for education has increased dramatically. There are 1 million + 1 factors why demand for a college degree has increased, but simply put - it's a requirement for nearly every desirable job today. Shortly after the turn of the century, supply of education began trying to meet demand for a college education via online programs, new local/regional schools, etc... but that has done little to slow the education price hikes. So I ask you - how many folks can afford a $63K price tag per year (my alma mater's current tuition & room)? That's significantly more than the average household income. Suddenly the $15K guru seminar is looking much more appealing.... JOKING :)

Ok, so that explains the price of one economic market - the market of education. But how does this relate to the housing market? Well, let's rewind the clocks...