1031 for a Rehab?

11 Replies

I'm new to the investment world and trying to learn everything I can from all you smart and educated people here (big thanks to @jonholdman)!

I went to a financial / flipping seminar and listened to this strategy of how to make $ with little to no taxes....

You rehab a house; file a 1031 exchange with IRS before closing, and purchase another house to rehab within 45 days.... after this rehab (or maybe a 3rd if needed) you then put those earnings into a buy & hold property by way of a trust (grandchildren, child, etc). This trust can't be taxed for 5 Generations. Now you are earning the monthly rental income from this property, and have avoided large taxes.

Has anyone done this, or know if it's legit?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Internal_Revenue_Code_section_1031

Flips are considered "inventory" and not "investments" therefore, they are not eligible for a 1031 exchange, however, there are exceptions. Intent plays a huge role and owning a property for at least one year is also a milestone likely needed.

Something I just learned this year and that is all funds you placed into the purchase and rehab would have to be moved into the 1031 or else, anything pulled would be considered boot and taxable.

@Becky Nichols Jon and Will are correct. Properties involved in a 1031 Exchange must be held for investment (as opposed to held for sale like flips are).

The Dynasty Trust is the only generation skipping trust I know of and it set title to grandchildren bypassing the child of the grantor. Income from the property may be used by the child. I've never heard of skipping five generations, that doesn't even make sense to me that Uncle Sam would wait 100 or even 200 years to collect transfer or tax gains. Steven might laugh. :)

How long would it take to be considered an investment, a year?

There are no strict guidelines about length of ownership term, and there's a lot of debate on the forums about time vs. intent.