Starting out in CT questions

7 Replies

Hi everyone,

New member here, with a couple questions.

I have been a licensed home improvement contractor in CT for many years back. I shut down my business a few years back when there were not so many jobs out there that you could make a living off of. Started working for a company that had me traveling all over the country, which was great. Now I'm ready to settle down back in Connecticut as I have a child on the way.

I want to get back into the construction business but this time flipping houses.

I actually have found a property that i will be flipping (just wainting on the closing next week).

Here are my questions: Considering I will be doing most of the work on the house my self.

Do I set up my home improvement business again? Getting a license with the state and of course tax numbers.

If so, do I purchase the property under the company name or myself?

Should I consider a different type of license to apply for?

Thanx for any input

@Lukasz Z. ,

I can't answer your questions, but I'm sure you will get some answers to your questions.

Welcome to the Best Real Estate Site on the Net.

It is always nice to see another Ct., resident in the forums.

Click on the "learn tab" at the top of this page, and you could be spending many hours on the Information that is available.

Raymond

You might not need a license to work on your own home. But it would be a good idea to put the property in an LLC to limit liability of the project seperate from your personal assets.

Phil Z., Real Estate Agent in Connecticut (#REB.0789205)
203-936-7776

There would be no need for the extra works. Its your home you can work on it without a license but for liability you may want to enter the property under an LLC or land trust. I grew up in New Britain im curious were is your flip located at?

It's in new britain. Right on the newington border.