Am I ready to quit my job???

46 Replies

I have been investing with my own money for the past 4 years, and have built a pretty healthy portfolio of cash flow properties, and once my 1031 exchange is complete, I'll have 17 units, mostly free and clear, paying me a good sum every month. I don't know anyone else that has quit their well paying job to invest full time...so I was hoping to talk to someone who has. It seems as through my business is ready to grow; I have built a great network and experience to go full time investing...however, would like to hear from someone who is a couple years out from where I am now. If anyone who is in this position has a few minutes to chat, I would greatly appreciate the time and perspective. 

Jake

Well, only you can really answer that. Have you been relying on income from your investments to live on, or does it all get reinvested? If the answer is all reinvested, AND you make enough from your rental income to replace your salary I think you are ready. 

My goal is to do just that. Build up my rental income to match or exceed my W2 salary then make the jump. I have been disciplined and always reinvested all income from the investment properties. Once I quite the job, I will simply begin using rental income as salary.

Whatever you choose to do, make sure your health insurance and all that will be covered, as well, not just your salary.

Best of luck!

You are way ahead of me, so I cannot offer any good advice here - I am on my first rental and see a good four more years ahead of me (which closely mirrors your timeline) - but would like to hear more about how you managed to get to 17 properties free and clear. Do you have a very high paying job? Did you reinvest all income into buying down the loans? Were you purchasing with cash?