What entity should I create?

28 Replies

Hi everyone!

My husband and I are planning on jumping in to the Chicago market and are pursuing fix/flips. We are having trouble deciding which entity(LLC, S-Corp, land trusts, etc.) to create and are looking for advice. Now, we realize that you may/may not be attorneys but maybe if you guys could shed some light on what works for you, that would be fantastic.

Oh, and just to give you some background this will be a first-time flip and we already have an LLC in Georgia for a buy/hold property.

Thanks in advance for any and all advice!

I've read LLCs are not good entities for short-term flips.  I use them with my larger apt bld buy and holds.  They are better set-up for passive income.  From what I understand an S-corp is better for active income.  

The answer may be neither. For what purpose do you want an entity @Sidney S. ?  Asset protection? Anonymity?  Tax advantages?  The only one I see it offering is #2.  I am not a lawyer though.  Cheers!

Your GA LLC will need to be registered in IL to do business in IL. May be cheaper to just start an IL LLC (no duplication of costs). Also, IL allows series LLCs where GA might not - check into that.

Conventional wisdom holds that properties be held in LLCs while income should be processed through an S-Corp.

You'll want to get hold of a tax attorney who understands structuring business entities for purposes of controlling tax liability as well as protecting assets against liability due to lawsuits and other issues. I can refer you, if you need it.

Great question @Sidney S. ! I have been wondering about LLC vs s-corp for flipping houses. For a flip I would be looking for tax advantages/savings. I will start looking into s-corps now.

@Richard McGouirk

@Sidney S. Becuase we have partners we always use LLCs but you must ask the accountant about tax consequences and attorney about asset protection. In Illinois most should tell you an LLC.