LLC BEFORE or AFTER my First Deal?

14 Replies

Hello-

I currently reside in Maryland, and my first rehab project is in PA

Curious which state I should form my LLC, and if I even need to at first?

Should I just file as a Sole Proprietor until I get a few deals under my belt?  Along with some cash !

Thank You for any help !

Michael 

Michael

I am actually in the same boat. We have are first deal and waiting for settlement but no LLC.

My personal feeling is to get it set up ASAP. Thats only based on my past experience and my current employment, ""always protect yourself ".

That said this first deal will be  as a sole proprietor just because of timing.

Congrats on your first deal. I am new to the REI rehab process and I decided to get an LLC formed and funded to make everything very very clear when it comes time for taxes and year end closings. I believe that forming an LLC protects your personal assets and credit rating. I'll leave it to the experts here to expound upon my notions. @Brandon Hall & @Russell Brazil

Sole Proprietorship provides you no asset protection, so there is no point in my opinion. For the time, energy and money it will take to do SP, you might as well do LLC. Easiest to setup in the state that you are going to operate in. If you think you'll get over the 40k/year mark in profits, then filing the S-designation is worth it.

I formed in MD with plans to become a licensed realtor in both MD and DC. Not sure if forming in another state makes that much of a difference but again I'll defer to more seasoned folks.

Originally posted by @Matt Motil :

Sole Proprietorship provides you no asset protection, so there is no point in my opinion. For the time, energy and money it will take to do SP, you might as well do LLC. Easiest to setup in the state that you are going to operate in. If you think you'll get over the 40k/year mark in profits, then filing the S-designation is worth it.

Matt