Get my va home loan back or not

6 Replies

Hello all ! My name is Logan Wray and I have some what of a  dilemma. I am brand new to real estate investing but I think I am ready to tackle my first deal. I have questions on how should finance it. My current home was purchased using the no money down va home loan. I'm wanting to make another purchase in the near future preferably a multi family unit, but I don't know if I should just save up for the 20% down payment on a new property or refinance my current home with a traditional 30yr note and then once again use my va home loan for the new property? Feed back would be greatly appreciated.

Ps. I would like to rent out my current single family home and "house hack" the newly acquired property.

Logan 

Hey Logan,

I am in a similar situation as you are; I just got my real estate license, but have been renting out my previous home which was financed via a VA home loan. I have had tenants in that house for a year (I bought another property via VA) and was also wondering whether I would want to refi or keep it as it is. To me, the bottom line became the interest rate; I have a good interest rate on my home as it is (a foreclosure purchased in 2009); it didn't make a ton of sense to me to refi to a full point and a half more (at this point, it is an investment property, not my primary residence) so I decided that I would leave it as it is and use traditional lending or private lending for future buy and hold properties. You can probably do the math over the life of an amortized loan to see which option makes more sense for you. Hope that helps; this is my first post :)

How much EQUITY have you gained since purchasing your primary (either through smart bargain buying in the first place, or subsequent appreciation)?

If there is no equity (yet), and you're champing at the bit to get into a multi (say, 4-plex), maybe you could apply for an FHA-approved low 3.5% deposit Loan?