I have $5000, what do i do?

15 Replies

I am a full-time student and working part-time as a personal trainer and I know real estate is going to the tool to build my wealth over many years to come. I'm located in the bay area so there really isn't a thing I can do with this kind of money and I am open to looking at deals in a much different geographical area as long as the deal is right. Any tips on what I should be doing? Certain areas, what I be doing while in school to advance my knowledge/experience in the field, just keep on saving? Anything helps, thanks so much guys.

Is real estate going to be your primary occupation?  If so, why are you gaining student loan debt in college (I'm assuming you're not in high school)?

When I was in college, one of the students biked around campus selling cookies his girlfriend made.  2 cookies, 1 buck.  Text him and he'd be there within 15 minutes.  The cookies were good and the people made a lot of money.  

In another part of campus there were a lot of apartments yet landlords only had one dumpster far away from most people.  A few of students went around and posted notices that they'd collect your trash and throw it away for a small monthly fee or a larger single day fee.  Many signed up. (and everyone disliked the corporate overlords)

Find some way to help people out and then charge them a little bit for it.  You can make a surprising amount.  If being a personal trainer is good enough then ok, keep at it.  Don't forget to minimize your expenses.  Play on someone else's console instead of buying your own.

What type of real estate do you intend to do?  Wholesaling, flipping, rentals, turn keys, etc...

What to do with $5000? Nothing. You will need that money to finish school, car repair, or pay your deductible on an insurance claim. Get as much free education on real estate investing as you can through podcasts, youtube, etc. Make connections that may help you syndicate in the future. @Douglas Krofcheck great advice.