• Issaquah, WA
Votes |
flip partnerships VS. long term rental partnerships

Brad Decater
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Issaquah, WA
Posted Nov 6 2017, 21:36

Hello all!

My name is Brad Decater. I am new to bigger pockets and wanted to do an intro as well as ask a question to all of you experts out there! 

First off, I am very excited to be apart of this community and think it is an amazing space to learn RE investing! I am a Real Estate agent a little outside of Seattle Washington and am just starting out on my investing journey. I am a home-owner and am currently working on my first flip. I have been talking to some people who would make for a good partnership, however, I don't really know how to format a great partnership that is fair to both sides. The potential partner(s) would be providing mostly money. Although I would have some to put in as well, this is the main reason I would need them. I Don't have tons saved up and am still within my first 2 years as an agent so cant get a mortgage until I have had 2 years in the industry. 

I have a few scenarios I would love some feedback for.

1. My partner pays for the entire purchase price for a flip and rehab, and I do literally everything else. Find deal, negotiate and get into contract, close, coordinate rehab, sell myself as an agent...50%-50%  of net profit makes sense right? their money, my work. seems like a fair trade off. 

2. Partner can qualify for conventional loan and pays 20% down for a mortgage...same scenario on my side(I do everything else). Seems like at this point even though they paid the down payment, it is still significantly less than a full cash offer... Does this change the percentage that we should be sharing? considering his cash on cash return would be substantially better, but my work load is the same...any thoughts?