Rental Property Accounting using Quickbooks Online

19 Replies

Does anyone do their own accounting? I'm trying to set up "asset" reserve accounts for Vacancy, repair & maintenance, and cap ex. how do you do this or are you accruing your expenses? How do you save for the expenses that have not happened yet?

I do the bookkeeping but use CPA's for tax preparation. Been advised from day one to do accounting on a "cash basis". Been doing it that way for the pass 40 years.

The way yo save for expenses is to budget so much for repairs and vacancies, through a separate account, moving so many dollars into a money market fund account.

Thanks for the advice, and why were you advised on a cash basis? I too am going to do the bookkeeping and use a CPA for tax prep, I am just getting started on my first duplex and would like to know why on cash basis? Do you not accrue your property tax expenses?

The are lots of stuff written on cash vs accrual accounting. 

I spend 90% of my career in Accounting and Credit Management, including visiting clients to check their books to determine how much credit we should extend them, to the other end, calculate the amount of "bad debt reserves" required, and adjusting them when necessary if the bad debts over time is actually larger or smaller than projected.

When I visit clients, many keep two sets of books. One for reporting purposes, usually on a accrual basis. The other one is cash basis, where you see the actual cash coming and going. These companies has full time accounting staffs to handle it, unlike a small time landlord that has a full time W2 job to attend to. You must really like accounting to do two sets of books.

If you start off with one or two tenants, on a cash basis, your income is what your tenants actually paid you. For expenses, it's what you actually paid.