Creating a Partnership

4 Replies

Hello, I am about to form an LLC with my friend who has his own contractors business, and I am a real estate agent. Our goal is to start flipping houses now build some cash and then buy and hold duplexs. I am looking for advice on forming this partnership, pros and cons, and then also he is wanting to go the route of taking a business loan out, and I have the ability to pull a HELOC loan for 20 to 30k. Any advice on how I should go about starting this partnership and maybe some advice on what kind of contracts we should have between each other when forming this.

Thank you,

Geoff Cavneder

@Geoff Cavender , I would start with the small business administration. They have lots of good things on their site you may need. Developing an operating agreement for the LLC will help establish the basis of your business, including capital contributions (HELOC, Loan). A business plan is a worthwhile effort, because it helps you understand what you don't have figured out yet and other team members you will need.

Happy to answer any specific questions, just PM me.

Rich

@Geoff Cavender  

All the answers you are looking for are already here on BP - you should read these:

How to Effectively Conduct Joint Venture Agreements as a Real Estate Investor

how-do-i-properly-construct-a-purchase-with-a-partnership

create-an-llc-for-first-partnership-best-way-to-do-so

taking-on-partner-s-and-limiting-our-liabilites

If you still have unanswered questions after that, you need specialized help - talk with @Scott Smith .

Thanks @Costin I. !