New and moving to Hawaii. I want your opinions on my opportunity

20 Replies

Thanks for the guidance here.  I am new to this but have been fortunate to have great equity in my current home.

I plan to move to the Big Island of Hawaii in the next year.  I have appx 200K equity in my current home and want to use this to get there.  The job market is thin there and will have to start a business which will be a cold pressed juice mobile establishment.

The finances will look like this:  80k to the new home of 280k. I will finance the 200k.

Pay cash for the mobile business of appx 60k well equipped.  This will leave a buffer of 60k to ensure I start up, and can keep running.  All goes well this will leave 60k to also re invest into something else down the road.  

I reach out to ask you all as I am completely new to this and hope to turn my main home as I have done before.  I also would like to invest in real estate as time goes on with any extra money that comes in.

Thanks so much for any insight you may provide.

Andrew

Originally posted by @Bryan Martin :

@Andrew Meikle Hi Andrew, I'm not sure what your actual question is. Can you clarify what you're looking for and then we can try to help?

I guess the question is can you run a food vendor business profitably  ??  

Originally posted by @Andrew Meikle :

@Jay Hinrichs

Thanks for the reply dude!

If you wanted to move to Hawaii and home is $300k. How would you spend $200k as a financial minded individual?

Keep in mind I do need to source my own income as market is thin.

When you get to the outer islands market is thin as you state..  

If it was me I would set up a Japanese wedding company !!  when I am in Honolulu we have a view of Ala Moana park and the Japanese couples that come to Hawaii to get married are down there one after another for their pictures. its a big business.  Just hire someone who speaks the language ..