Vet Student & rookie investor in Tucson looking for guidance

19 Replies

Hi there!

My name is Stacey. I'm currently a veterinary medicine student at the University of Arizona and brand new to the world of real estate investing. I'm looking to network with other investors both locally and out of state to continue learning, make friends, and find my first investment property. 

When it comes to funding and partnerships, I feel a little stumped. As a med student, I'm sitting on a lot of student loans at the moment and zero income. I'm not letting that deter me, I'm just not sure how to take my first steps. How do I find funding (private or conventional) and/or partnerships as a rookie investor that can't contribute to a deal financially or with experience yet. I'm all ears for those that are willing to share your thoughts on this. I'm very clear on my "why", I just need some guidance on the "how". 

For those farther along in your investing, did you seek out a mentorship with a seasoned investor when you first started? Is this something you highly recommend?

I appreciate all the insights, conversations and advice here. This community is awesome! 

Thanks in advance.

Stace

Hi Stacey. When I started, many years ago (before blogs or podcasts were a thing),  I read a lot of real estate investment books, attended a slew of real estate and other investment seminars, and started interviewing realtors in top market areas. What happens when you truly invest yourself in learning about investing, is you start building momentum and getting passionate/excited/obsessed about investing- it's beautiful. There's something amazing that happens, when you start to PAY to learn about real estate investing, rather than just doing what's free. Even better, is paying and physically being among active investors, rather than just learning Online or from books- it takes it to a whole other level.