User Stats

Votes
Chirag Shetty
Votes |
Out of state market for first time investor

Chirag Shetty
Posted Nov 27 2021, 15:09

Hello BP community,

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving! I am a newbie investor looking to make to my first OOS real estate investment. 

I wanted to get insights from this community on the best markets to invest out of state. I am primarily based in Seattle and I am looking to diversify by investing outside of my resident state. I want to build a balanced portfolio of appreciating and cash flow properties and I would like to start off with an appreciation property as my immediate focus is to build long-term wealth and also because most markets I am interested in seem to have properties in the $200k-$350k range which falls within the range for my budget (I have ~60k-70k to invest). Being a newbie investor, I do not have much insight into flipping homes or rehabbing a property and thereby looking into markets where I can get a recently build (max 5 years old)/new property that does not require additional work to rent out. As an alternative I have been looking into turnkey properties too but again I am unsure which market is the ideal place to start. Ideally, I would want the property to be cash flow positive just enough to cover all the expenses (mortgage, taxes, property mgmt) with a buffer in case the market cools down in the coming years. Given how crazy the market's been recently i do not think the craze will sustain over a long period and if the market cools down in some areas it makes sense to invest in a property that retains its rental value.