Monthly Cash Flow vs. COC ROI

14 Replies

Hello All, Im brand new to investing and looking for my first rental. I live in Orange County, Ca and analyzing a triplex listed at $999,999 with 30% down. I've watched all the the BP vids and following the 50%, Cash Flow per rental, and COC ROI rules. After I enter all the numbers I'll have a monthly cashflow of approximately $700 but a COC ROI between 2%-3%. Listening to the vids this may not be a good investment because of the percent Im making on the money down. Would you all agree or does the monthly cash flow supersede the COC ROI. I appreciate the knowledge and hello to any investors in Fullerton. Thanks

Hi @Marvin Ghafoori, I think 2-3% is a bit low, but I'm not familiar with that market. I think a question that you need to answer is, are you satisfied with $700 cash flow? Returns are situational, meaning if it works for you then it works--for you. Is this a market where the property and/or rental value will increase year-over-year?

@Marvin Ghafoori You live in an appreciation market. I don't see how a $1M property cash-flows. I'm not in your market like @Marc Ferguson said but that rent would need to be really HIGH to create a positive COC return. If it's listed for $1M, market value is $1M, and rents are $5K per month before expenses it's a dud.

Not to mention you're "locking in" over $300K to get into this property. That doesn't get me excited. It gets me scared. Aim for a property that's undervalued, distressed (value add), or a combination with more upside than just 5-10% ROI, bla bla. You could flip, STR, or rent-to-own lease with future tenants. Think outside the box and try not to get attached to a deal. Good luck man.

Updated about 2 months ago

The deal you described is not good. Keep looking.

Promotion
Obie Insurance
Coverage for your rental
Get a quote for your rental property in 2 minutes or less.
Save on landlord insurance. A transparent, simple, and affordable way to protect your investment.