How to avoid getting emotional!

14 Replies

Hi!

I am new to this Real State world, I have been, and still am a CEO and founder of a pharmaceutical company for animal health here in Mexico. Real state has always been a "huge" deal for me, I always looked at it as something for people with a lot of money, but recently this has changed and opened a completely new world, full of possibilities for personal growth and a clear path for financial freedom.

I have been looking for my first deal very hard for the last 4 weeks, so far, I have gone through, maybe 150 properties, and 2 with some potential. I am looking for houses to buy and hold and rent in a high-intensity scheme, meaning as many rooms in the property as possible. I discarded one of the potential properties I found, and now I am going through a revision process for one property that looks promising. I fear that since I want to have my first deal so bad, I will force my "promising" deals to match my financial objectives, what would you recommend to keep my head focused and not let my emotions rule the analysis of my deals?

Any time you try to force a bad deal into a good one, you are setting yourself up for failure. Focus on learning the market and becoming an expert in it, set your criteria and only make offers that fit that criteria. You are bound to find a deal that fits into that criteria eventually and if not, take a step back to reflect and decide whether you need to change your strategy, your market or maybe even asset class. 

"I fear that since I want to have my first deal so bad, I will force my "promising" deals to match my financial objectives, what would you recommend to keep my head focused and not let my emotions rule the analysis of my deals?"

Stick with your numbers.  Follow what the numbers tell you what to do, or as you've experienced so far, and correctly I might add, they will tell you what NOT to do.  Always remember, sometimes the best deals, are the one you DON'T make.