Votes
Austin Bull
  • Mesa, AZ
Votes |
First time buyer in Arizona!

Austin Bull
  • Mesa, AZ
Posted May 23 2023, 13:52

My name is Austin, I'm 26, and I'm planning on buying my first property ever in Arizona in the Phoenix Metro area. I'm looking to house hack in order to get my REI snowball rolling. I'm most familiar with the east valley which was a great place to grow up. Currently I have been working in the valley as a plumber. When I was a residential plumber I'd take calls all around the valley so I feel like I have a good idea of areas I'd want to live/invest. However, REI is all knew to me and so is examining the markets.

My main question is: currently in 2023, is this market more tailored towards playing the long game with appreciation or looking to get a property that will cash flow.

Also some people tell me to "time the market" and to wait a little to start, while others tell me to just get in the game while I can. What do you all think?

Any advice is greatly appreciated, thanks!

User Stats

Votes
Doug McVinua
Pro Member
  • Property Manager
  • Queen Creek, AZ
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Property Manager
  • Queen Creek, AZ
Replied May 23 2023, 14:27

@Austin Bull Each market will vary, Arizona, specifically the Phoenix/Mesa MSA is short on inventory, and prices are rising in spite of the interest rates. Buying a property like you want is a longer-term play, buy in a decent location you want to live in, and house hack for a year or two until you are ready to move on to property two. The loan you get today may be short-term, as soon as rates drop you will want to refinance, which will improve your cash flow.

Waiting is going to cost you money in this market.

Blue Sky Living, LLC Logo

User Stats

Votes
Austin Bull
  • Mesa, AZ
Votes |
  • Mesa, AZ
Replied May 23 2023, 14:29

@Doug McVinua

Thanks Doug for the feedback, I am curious why you said the loan may be short-term?

BiggerPockets logo
Meet Investor-Friendly Agents
|
BiggerPockets