Short Sale or coming up short?

6 Replies

I have been reading through some articles on this site. I'm currently looking for my first house to flip. I am just starting out and have a very low budget to make an offer. There is a house that I was interested in that was getting ready to go to short sale. This house was a total fixer upper, they were asking 20,000.00 and after speaking with the listing agent I was told that the guy that currently owns the house had a lien he was still paying on in the amount of 32000.00. The taxes were kept up until today i checked and 2014 taxes were not paid yet. My boyfriend and I were going to do the repairs ourselves. The home is in a nice neighborhood with a good school district. Also, every house around it is nice and well kept. The comparables are ranging from 40 to 60 thousand. I made an offer of 5000.00 cash on the home. The agent replied with a worksheet of the total cost of the purchase would be 8134.00. He also mentioned that the bank could possibly not accept my offer because of it being so low. Yet I seem to be the only person interested in this property. The home is in pretty bad condition(definitely not worth 20000.00). Do you think the listing agent is only trying to pull more money out of me? Also, do you think I have a chance to get this property if it goes into short sale or foreclosure? The listing agent also told me he would make sure the attorney working on the case would know about my offer.

Any advice or insight would be greatly welcomed.