Buy first home or buy investment property?

23 Replies

I'm really new to RE investing. I graduated college three years ago but haven't bought a home yet, still living at an apartment. I want to get into RE investing, but don't know if I should buy my first home for myself and wait to invest, or just go ahead and invest. Also, if I do invest first, will I have a problem when I want to buy my first home for me to live in? I am pre-approved and am ready to go to start investing OR buy a home for myself, but I don't know which path to take first. Any help?

I don't mean to be Socratic, but all I have are questions for you.

Are you married? Are you in a serious relationship?

Is having an additional source of income important to you right now? If it is, how much do you want?

Are you willing to work with partners?

What area would you buy your home in?

What area would you buy your investment property in?

Now I can give you the "what I would do" take.

If I was three years out of college and had a little cash I would invest in real estate before I considered buying my own home. My house would be an immediate liability but my investment property would be an asset. I would buy as many cash flowing assets as possible or do activities in real estate investing that would produce cash so I could do whatever I wanted down the road.

You have your whole life to own your own home, why not invest now and learn, learn, learn so when you do buy your home you will buy right.

Hey Rick, thanks for your reply! Here are the answers to your questions.

Are you married? Are you in a serious relationship?

Not married, but got engaged in December and planning on getting married in June 2015.

Is having an additional source of income important to you right now? If it is, how much do you want?