Where to find Unlisted Properties

7 Replies

To the gurus I hope to be like one day:

I see a lot of posts talk about unlisted properties. Where are folks finding unlisted properties? Any tips and tricks to getting to these properties fast?

Obviously a novice here :)

Thank you for sharing your insight and knowledge.

Get the seller to call you before they list with an agent.

Network, bandit signs, etc.

Best regards

@Luther M. There are many ways to find unlisted properties, they just generally take a little more work to find. @Ky Sharp is right you gotta catch them before they are listed with an agent. Networking and advertising that you are willing to buy houses helps. Many people starting out do "Driving for Dollars" campaigns where they actually pick a target area and they just drive up and down the streets looking for signs that a property is distressed i.e. Trash, cars on the lawn, bad roof, un-kept lawn, broken windows. Then writing down the addresses and send letters to the owners expressing your interest in buying. Some of the owners will need to be tracked down using county records. There are also Craigslist ads, wholesalers, public trustee auctions, web auctions, and much more. Good luck finding a deal

@Kevin Fletcher

& @Ky Sharp

Thank you both for the replies! What are you thoughts on searching on for sale by owner... is that considered "listed"

I'm searching Craig's list in the For Rent sections for ads that appear the person.isnt a professional landlord or investor. I'll look for things such as fair housing no nos, poor quality photos, lack of a website, subject lines such as 4 bed room house for rent instead of spacious home for rent in x neighborhood. I'll call or email to see if the house is for sale.

I'm also reviewing expired listings to see why they didn't sell originally. I'll look at the remarks and photos for things such as outdated kitchens etc.

Originally posted by @Luther M. :
To the gurus I hope to be like one day: