21 years old with $2000, what should I do?

20 Replies

Hey everyone.

I have no experience aside from the countless articles I have read online. I'm receiving money that my grandpa had left me in a CD, and I would like to reinvest it. I'm using some of it to eliminate my debt, anf will have about $2000 left to invest. I've looked at mobile homes, and found a couple under my capital, but with lot rent, theres not much profit. I thought about fast flipping and reinvesting until I got my desired capital. As seasoned investors, if you could be in my shoes what would you do to make the most of what you have? My goal is to eventually own a handful of multi-family properties and have them managed by someone else so that I have a very sturdy income and by the time I have children I can have all the time in the world for them.

Thank you

Since you used most of the proceeds from CD to pay off loans, make sure you take the money you were paying on the loans and "pay it to yourself", not as additional discretionary income. In addition, start looking to see if there are special home owner programs in your area. Some programs allow you to place little or no money down when buying a home in a specific area. If I remember correctly, when I bought my first home, It cost ~$25K and I had to put down 3%, suddenly HUD (as it was foreclosure) announced they would give a rebate of $600 for any home closed within 30 days 0r $300 for closing within 45 days. Anyway, even after prepaying insurance, setting up escrow accounts, covering closing costs, I wound up coming out of the closing with a check for $200.00, a "new" house mortgage to the hilt, and payments less than I was paying in rent and 6-months taxes and insurance paid or in escrow. Never did figure how it all worked but did not complain.

So stay liquid, add to your savings, join a real estate investment club, and keep your eyes open for a bargain. They do exist in almost every market.