Would this be a good investment?

9 Replies

Hi guys I'm studying for my first investment which I'd like to initiate this year possibly after summer?

Would this be a good house to buy n hold?
Why or why not?

http://www.zillow.com/homedetails/2954-Westmoreland-Ct-New-Port-Richey-FL-34655/46416377_zpid/

My objective here is to really start training myself to understand the market.

@Jacob Cannon It looks in good condition. Would you be paying cash or getting a loan? Do you know the going rental rates for the area? It looks occupied, so you might have to deal with evicting prior owners. Sometimes people will damage a house before the leave, so you might want to have some money ready in case that happens.

Just a few things to consider when evaluating a property. I'm sure others will add more insight.

Best of Luck!

Hey thanks @Christine Glasner I would be getting a loan and idk the going rental rates that is what I'm trying to figure out now.

Hey Jacob,

My first thought is that this is an apartment, not a house. I avoid apt's but I'm sure someone who favors them will post their opinion soon. I avoid apt's because you'll have a monthly HOA fee to pay in addition to your normal mortgage/owning costs. My experience with HOA fees was that they kept increasing year after year, I didn't notice it that much the years that the rent went up as well but then rents dropped. I noticed it big time that year because the HOA still went up. The reason this doesn't sit well with me is that I don't have control over my cash flow, every property is subject to the affects of rent dropping, but I see no need to add an increasing HOA fee to that equation.

Additionally, you have no control over how your neighbor lives, for instance, roaches in your neighbors apt means roaches will find your apt as well.