Townhouse vs Single Family vs Duplex

14 Replies

Hello all,

I am a new investor that hasn't made a deal yet. I am looking for pros/cons on different property types keeping in mind that I am just starting out and would be managing myself.

I like the idea of a townhouse that has maintenance provided (although HOA dues may rise). It would also give me a newer property (less than 12 years old) than if I bought a SF or Duplex (Blue Springs, MO).

When I lived in a townhouse, I know the HOA paid for trash, snow removal, lawn care, had amenities such as a pool and workout room, and even had insurance in case a roof or siding needed repairs.

I also like single families because I can get a bigger return. Most of the ones I can afford are in bad shape, and I am not a handyman (video director). My concern with duplexes is who is responsible for lawn care/snow removal, and most in the area that I can afford are section 8, which I know very little about.

I am lucky to have all these options in my town, but I want to hear what others think a newbie should start with and why. Please keep in mind that I would prefer to buy and hold. Thank you in advance for any and all input.

Your best value - all things being equal in terms of price to rent ratops - sfh's are going to be your best investment.

But all things are never equal. To me, I'm open to either of those 3 home types depending on the numbers. But I'd also discount townhomes and duplexes based on other things which means I'd want to see better price to rent ratios on either of those before I'd buy one of them over a SFH.

1) Townhomes. If you have an HOA, then you have to factor in both the expense (obviously) and the risk. The risk that the HOA fees can go up. The risk that the HOA has the ability to change their bylaws and no longer allow you rent to the units out.

Also, townhomes are much closer to apartments so you'll typically have more turnover and higher management effort needed.