Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Virgil Dove
  • Brandywine, WV
Votes |
Just starting out, found a deal I couldnt refuse!

Virgil Dove
  • Brandywine, WV
Posted Apr 12 2014, 09:45

All,

I am brand new to investing in real estate besides having already invested in my own home.

About a week ago, I was looking to buy some extra land near my home and prices for an acre of land was astounding for my area, i thought... The price for 1 acre of land without electric, water, sewer...just land was $4500-$4900 for all wooded acreage. I thought that was a bit steep and considering I was wanting about 10 acres, I felt the need to search via other sources. I called a local real estate agent to see what they have as far as land goes. He claimed they had a couple properties in my price range but didnt fit my description. One of which was the deal I could not refuse... Surprisingly the property was just listed 2 days ago, but had not hit the websites yet. A woman from Las Vegas, Nevada had owned the property for several years, but does not visit any longer and was wanting to part with it (probably due to tax purposes, etc).

The property consists of a small single family house, a decent outside 2 story shed, a old chicken coop (will be tore down), and about 0.5 acres of land for a whopping price of $18,500. At first, when the real estate agent mentioned it, I had assumed the house was run down with a gaping hole in the floor or something. Later, I reflected back, and had wondered exactly what the property actually looked like. I knew where the property was and after confirming with the real estate agent, I took a look. The property was grown up and looked like a hay field with a house on it that needed at least a paint job (no one has lived in the house since 1987). I took a look inside and it needed work (which I was expecting), but not too much work. It was more or less a ruby in the rough (not a diamond), but it could profit significantly.