Time and stress analysis

9 Replies

Hello, I am a young professional and my job is high paying but very stressful. As such, I'm hesitant to invest in anything that takes time/energy. However, looking at the current investment landscape, traditional options appear pretty limited. The stock market rally is pretty long in the tooth, bonds are yielding next to nothing, and commodity speculation isn't appealing to me.

Due to this, I am considering purchasing my first investment property to rent out. I'm primarily looking to store and grow wealth, not necessarily yield income. Also, I am considering real estate because it is a great shield from the tax man.

Before taking the plunge, my one biggest, biggest concern is the stress/hassle. For those of you who have day jobs and kids, how much time does it take to manage one property? Even if one hires a property manager, does it still take up a significant amount of your personal time?

Thank you in advance for your replies and advice,