Investing Out of State

9 Replies

I'm new to BP and new to investing. I do have a mortgage background and currently do hold my MLO license in CA. I live in Santa Barbara, CA and for someone that does not have a lot of capital, Santa Barbara can be a difficult place to invest especially for someone that is just trying to get started, or so I've been told. I've heard that investing in other counties or out of state might be a better strategy, but then again, that leaves many unknowns as well.

What advice would you give someone starting out in an inflated market?

@Gonzalo Gonzalez Questions for you...

- Your goals? 1 property? 10? Long term cash flow? Cash flow & appreciation?

- Acceptable rate of return?

- Acceptable risk?

- Budget?

- Are you willing to build a team and travel a couple times a year to check on your investments? Or are you looking for more turnkey?

I am looking into the same thing. A little earlier today I saw a video on "virtual wholesaling" has anyone done this?

@Sam Jones I'm new to RE investing so at this point I'm looking to break into the market with my first property. I'm sure once I get that first deal under my belt, the second will be 10 times easier. I'd like to leverage someone else's money, so I'd be really interested on how to utilize private lending, if at all possible, to purchase out of state. I'm not very handy, so rehabbing out of state is not an option. I'm more interested in long term, cash-flowing investments. As far as building a team and traveling…I would definitely want to establish a team and I don't have a problem traveling two to three times a year.

@Markeilsha R. I've never heard of virtual wholesaling, but you got my interest. Do you have access to the video? Would you be willing to share?

Welcome to BP! I just drove through SB on my way back from Big Sur a few weekends ago. SB is great, I haven't hung out there in a while but I used to some!