Where to find open houses?

13 Replies

Hello everyone,

I've been digging around the web trying to find a way to map out open houses in my area. (Boston, MA) I feel like there are a lot of sites out there that offer this but they want you to sign up, which I don't want to do.

I am a beginner at all of this and I thought that something I should start doing is to go to open houses and start doing test runs and learning the lingo, learning "the numbers" and getting more and more comfortable with the process. I guess my question is, how can someone who is a complete beginner, gain access to where open houses are located? (Is this a stupid question, am I missing something?)

Anyway, any help would be greatly appreciated!

Justin

I know you said that you don't want to sign up, but I recommend Redfin. I'm pretty sure Boston is one of their markets. I've been signed up with them here in LA for years before I got my RE license, and find their search and content very useful. You will find what you are looking for on their site and I can tell you they've never bothered me with anything that I didn't ask them to.

Hmm, I have heard of redfin, and I will look into them further. I didn't know that they could offer this information, which is cool. Thanks for the pointer Mirinda!

Hey Justin,

I know Trulia has a feature where they will email you open houses matching the criteria you set. You will need to sign up for an account, but it is free. This is how I first found some open houses in Boston.

You could also get friendly with a buyers agent and ask them to send you a list of some open houses in the areas your interested in.

Good luck with your search,

Clinton

Do you not want to pay for a service or do you really not want to get a free account on these sites?

You can always look around the papers online or print versions and look at Craigslist and stuff like that.

You can also just drive around on the weekend and follow the signs.