How soon should I invest in my first property

16 Replies

Hello Bigger Pockets FAM

My name is Caleb. I'm a newbie. I'm a letter carrier in Morristown nj that's my full time job. I've been reading and educating my self on everything real state. I've been reading posts in this forum, reading bp blog posts and I just finished reading bp ultimate beginner guide.(I've been really inspired) My question is how long should I wait to invest in my first property? The strategy I want to use is a buy and hold/rehab. That what seems to be the trend in the area of New Jersey I'm in (which is Orange, Newark, East Orange area). Should I wait a year or should I give my self a couple months?

@caleb matteis Generally speaking, the sooner you start investing in real estate, the better! I advise that you have a few months worth of the mortgage payment put into savings before buying, so that you can cover the payments if there are any delays in getting a renter moved in. This will also give you a buffer in case you need to have some minor repairs done. If you buy your rental property at a good price, you can always sell it if you run into trouble. The key is just to get out there and do it!

-Joel

@joel thanks for the the advice it makes sense. I feel I should dive right in as well. Thanks again

Not a problem! Feel free to let me know if you run into any snags and I will see if I can help you fix them!

Joel is 100% right about having a nice buffer. Those areas are great to invest in multi-families houses and provide great cash flow. However even with a good screening process set up you just never know. My first year with my 3 unit in Newark cost me close to 10k in evictions, vacancies, and damages. I inherited those tenants with the property and it cost me dearly. But now things are going great now and the monthly cash flow on it is a beautiful thing. Good luck !!

Joel is 100% right about protecting yourself and your real estate assets.

best wishes on your educational journey