Votes
James Z.
  • Washington, D.C.
Votes |
Considering breaking into careers that augment REI

James Z.
  • Washington, D.C.
Posted Jun 9 2014, 13:27

Hi everyone - I won't bore everyone with details here (I already did that in another post) but I am in the process of overhauling my life/career, and the prospect of REI has become my prime motivation and goal since.

While I am adamant that I have the proper mindset for this kind of business, I also have the sense to know that my succeeding to the point of being able to quit my day job is at minimum "several" years off. In the meantime I would like to make a career change, and preferably move toward something that will augment my career in REI.

To this end, the path I am considering most thoroughly is Property Management. After speaking to the one PM I know, and researching it a bit, it seems like something that can be broken into with less time/money than some other professions, such as becoming a Real Estate Agent (in certain states, at least). It also seems to be a skill set that would be invaluable in owning properties, especially for someone like me that intends to be a Buy and Hold type investor.

I'm hoping that someone that is currently managing their own properties has input on this -- I'm curious to hear how helpful property management skills are in owning real estate of your own. I understand many of the basics of it, but in practice I have little concept of how time-consuming it is. For example...what number of properties can one person reasonably expect to be able to manage alone?