Personal or LLC

21 Replies

I am purchasing my first property fairly soon. Wanted to get a little help on if I should purchase it under a LLC or under my name.

Thx

I think it depends on your comfort level of risk. I recommend to my clients they get an entity formed.

If you are planning on getting a loan for the purchase you should check with your lender before going the LLC route, especially if it is a standard residential loan. Most lenders will only make those to individuals. Buying in the name of an LLC could necessitate using a commercial loan - much more expensive. Also, be aware that switching the title over to an LLC after the sale could potentially activate the "due on sale" clause in a mortgage agreement.

I am not a lawyer (disclaimer!) but I think most people are fine holding properties in their own name until they have amassed quite a bit of a portfolio. Just make sure you have adequate liability insurance. How much liability insurance you need just depends on your net worth. An additional umbrella liability policy from your insurance company is very inexpensive and probably provides better protection than an LLC.

@Patrick O'Sullivan  

curious what your rationale is for the LLC? I see you are a commercial broker- it makes sense to me that someone buying commercial property would be buying through an entity but I don't see how it's advantagous for a start-up residential investor.

@Jean Bolger

The attorney I sent my clients to can explain it better than I can, but for the most part, it has to do with liability exposure.

If you are trying to limit liability exposure get a good insurance policy.

Joe Gore

Thanks for all the help, just gathering all the info I need before I start investing. I have 2 friends that also invest one uses his personal other one has an LLC. Both have residential properties. Of course one said use an LLC the other said it's not needed.