Raleigh, NC or Austin, TX for Buy and Hold

17 Replies

Hi Guys,

I'm new to BP just wanted to ask what people think about the Raleigh, NC area vs. the Austin, TX area in terms of Real Estate Investing, with a Buy and Hold... Which area do you think is better today and why?

Thanks,

Ryan

I think the answer will be, it depends. What are your specific goals in both the short term and long term for your buy and hold properties? Cash flow? Appreciation? Something else?

I think if you can articulate those, your answer might become clearer. You might also find that neither of those markets are your ideal for your goals.

Lynn

Hi Lynn,

Thank you so much for the reply and advice.

I had a feeling I wasn't giving enough information, so glad you asked!

My goal is to have purchased 15 properties and have >$25,000/month cash flow in the next 5 years.

Appreciation is important, and cash flow is my priority.

Is Austin in a bubble right now or is the massive growth only going to continue? Is Raleigh a market with serious potential over the next 10-15 years with the growth they are experiencing?

Right now I live in Boston and I am planning a move to either Austin or Raleigh to begin a career in Real Estate so felt that it made the most sense to evaluate those two locations for an investment property, or maybe out of state makes more sense?

Thanks again!

Ryan

Hey Ryan welcome to the site! I can't give you much input in regards to Austin but I have a little knowledge about the Raleigh area.