Should I relocate?

7 Replies

Hey there everyone! Im new to bigger pockets and starting to look at my future goals. Im 26yrs old single and living in Maryland currently. Im from New Jersey but my job sends me all over to work on assignments and I may not be back in Jersey for 2yrs. Now thats fine but I was considering saving the money I'm making and buying a home for my family (Aunt and cousins who I grew up with). I want to stay in Jersey but feel I will get a better bang for my buck elsewhere as far as appreciation and property tax (in addition to nicer homes for half the price in Jersey). Not looking into schools or starting a family so thats not a factor for me. I want a home that will gain good appreciation and also looking to buy investment properties in the area I move to as well. I think the Phoenix area is where I'd like to relocate and from what I'm told would be a better investment for my money. Any opinions, advice? Im kind of fresh out the womb on all this. I would love to stay in Jersey but I dont want to lose out on big opportunities just because I'm sentimental. Thankful for any advice or commentary anyone can provide. 

@Jonathan Blandino What part of Jersey are you from ? NJ is an amazing place to invest. Save up for the next few years, do your research. Being that you have 2 years in your current location I see that as an amazing opportunity to focus on REI and come 2016 you will be more then ready to get your feet wet.

Hey @Shawn M.  

I'm from Northern Jersey, out in Paterson, but want to move my family out of the area altogether. If I stayed in Jersey it would probably be upper Passaic County or in Bergen County. 

@Jonathan Blandino  unless your looking to get your family out of the area asap I think the next 2 years serves as an amazing opportunity for you to save and learn.  

Are you excited for USA v Germany tomorrow? I will be honest, I made sure to schedule appointments around the game.