Buying a bunch of rentals, for my first deal!

6 Replies

I have a situation where a landlord is wanting to get out of the business, and I could pick up 7 houses for really cheap. I've run the numbers on the calculators here and there's money to be made. The biggest set back is these houses are pretty sad. They need a lot of repairs. I've accounted for that in my numbers and still come out doing decently. SO here's my questions - Am I completely stupid to take on 7 rentals as a complete newbie here? Is is possible to do any work on these houses while they're occupied? I don't want to lose the current tenants, that have rented for 4-7 years. Any thoughts/advice are greatly appreciated!

if they are cheap, buy them. Long term tenants are a plus.  I would not do major interior upgrades with tenants living there. Exterior paint, roofing and curb appeal is fine.  

Don't do anything to disturb lead paint with tenants residing.  

Buy them, collect and stock up on the rental income, and rehab them if any ever move out.

I would get an inspection on all of them just to make sure you know what needs to be repaired.  I agree with Arlan, long term tenants are a plus. 

@Dawn-Marie Black  

Welcome. Properties are often bundled because 1 or more are not performing. Time to build the foundation below.

Consider getting a property manager on board go to IREM.org search for ARM certified property managers. Call 5 ask them what sides of the city they like/dislike and why. Ask what they see them selling for and what expenses are by category. Ask if they know anything coming up for sale. Select one to manage your properties and learn from them.

Check out the Start Here page http://www.biggerpockets.com/starthere

Check out BiggerPockets Ultimate Beginner's Guide - A fantastic free book that walks through many of the key topics of real estate investing.