Starting out in Cincinnati

7 Replies

Hey All,

I'm new to Bigger Pockets but already a huge fan!

My question is, would anyone recommend getting my real estate license to start fliping or wholesaling? If so, is there a way to get sponsored by a brokerage company to get the cost covered for the classes?

Thanks

I have never heard of a brokerage paying for a new agent to get their license.  You will have to cover that yourself.  What happens when they pay and then you switch brokerages?  This will not happen. 

You dont need it to flip but it would hurt as there are many benefits to being an agent.  I am glad I am one as I have been able to make additional commissions that I would never have been able to before. 

Curt Davis, Real Estate Agent in TN (#00321765)

@Kevin Hart   That question has been around since government regulation started. And the universal answer is "it depends." There are many people who adamantly say you need to have it, and just as many say that you shouldn't have it. The question to you, is this;

What does a license do for YOU? Does it help your business model?

• The required classes for a license do not teach investing. They teach a basic understanding real estate concepts such as Title and Appraisal, and compliance with state law.
  • A license will require $$ ($1500-2500) each year to maintain your license through Continuing Education and other fees.
  • A license requires you disclose you are an agent to every potential buyer or seller.
  • You can pay for your own MLS login.
  • You can also pay yourself your own agent commission (after your broker gets a cut)
  • You can represent others in their deals.

A license is a state sanction that allows you to put together real estate transactions "for another" and to receive a commission. That can be a nice additional stream of income.