How do I Become a Contractor?

8 Replies

Hi!

I am a complete rookie when it comes to real estate. My plan is to become a contractor and rehab properties with my partner in Houston. However, there is no guide to becoming a contractor. Should I go to school for contracting? Or should I study on my own and take the state licensing test? 

So my plan is to attend San Jacinto College for a Bachelor's in Construction Management, then take the state licensing to become a contractor once I graduate. I don't want to fail at this so I feel that school is must. I also plan on going to on-site jobs while in school and creating relationships with vendors. 

I guess I need advice from people who have walked in my shoes. Is school necessary? Or can I succeed and save time by learning this trade myself? 

Thanks for your time and consideration!

Emmy

Hey @Emmeriah McDowell , welcome aboard. Not sure how the contractor licensing laws work in your state but I know here in Cali you have to be able to demonstrate 2-4 years (depending on how much relevant education) of on-the-job experience before you can get your license. I was going to get mine but ran into some challenges around demonstrating experience as much of my experience was in building my own house and it was difficult to verify. Anyhow, sounds like you and your partner are setting goals, getting focused, and heading in the right direction. If you are currently paying rent then I'd look at getting into a duplex or hacking your living situation (as Josh and Brandon always recommend) so that you can live for free to save for that down payment. Also, make sure you know about FHA loans. We bought our place for 3.5% down.

Cheers,

-Orion

@Emmeriah McDowell  - In most locations, you don't have to have a license to rehab your own properties - or those of a partner.  I once looked into becoming a contractor so that I could build spec-houses.  The expenses (liability insurance) were quite high.