Getting my Real Estate License before Investing

8 Replies

Hey Guys,

My names Chris Keator in Chandler, AZ. I'm 29 years old, and I have no real estate experience at all. I work full time as a used car salesman and plan to keep my job while I figure all this out.

About a month ago, I decided that Real Estate Investing sounds extremely fun and exciting at the same time. I've been reading everything I can get my hands on, and I'm not sure where to start. 

My goal (as of right now) is to get my real estate license and save up as much cash as I can in the next year before I decide to make my first move. I have very little clue as to what that first move will be, but I'm excited to start meeting people and learn as much as I can during this process :)

I would love any spare thought or suggestions if you guys have any.

Thanks so much!

Chris Keator

Great enthusiasm! I don't yet have a license but many of the posters on here recommend or at least encourage getting your Realtor license. When it comes to investing it doesn't hurt - you just need to be up front about your training. After all, as a licensed pro you're held to a higher standard. 

As for learning what to do next stay here on BP and ask questions. Secondly, and just as importantly is to join up with other investors in your area. Attend local REIA meetings. I couldn't find any in my area so I started my own group.

My last bit of advice is to take action on something - other than just reading. Reading only gets you so far. Get out there, mail some letters or postcards, allow your self to do it wrong and get over it. Its a learning experience. If you're not learning and having fun doing it perhaps its not the right path for you. 

Getting RE license will certainly give you an edge as an investor.  I've heard that Keller Williams realty is known for very good training and willingness to work with investors.  That would probably be a good place to start.

@Chris Keator

Welcome to BP.