Acquiring Funds For First Wholesale/Flip/Buy & Hold

7 Replies

I'm a recent college grad looking to complete my first deal. I want to get started early but don't have any investors as of yet. What route would you guys recommend to get funding for my first property? Would you recommend getting a loan from my bank?

How much cash do you have to put towards a deal.  You have to add value to the deal.  If you can't add value through your experience, then what value do you bring?  Do you bring sweat equity, knowledge or cash?  It's really that simple for any investment.

God Bless You!

@Michael Evans   I don't have much cash which is why I was considering a loan as an option. I am willing to give up my free time in order to get things done because I already spend most of my free time learning how to become an investor. I have a lot of knowledge about the real estate investing but what's the value of knowledge with no experience?

Fix and flipping and wholesaling are real estate businesses.  Buy and hold (rentals) are an investment.  Really tough to get into any of these with none of your own cash.  So, a good place to start is by accumulating some cash.  Of those three, wholesaling is the best shot at getting started with a limited amount of cash.  But even that requires some of your own cash, especially if you're serious about marketing.  The other two are definitely cash intensive.  Even with a loan, you'll need a significant amount of your own cash.

For buy and hold, bank loans are your cheapest money. But 20% down is typically the minimum. I've heard of 15%, but that will require PMI and will hurt your cash flow. You might look at creative acquisitions, such as some sort of seller financing. Even those will usually require some money down. And you do not want to be a landlord without significant cash reserves. Six months PITI is a typical lender requirements. Six months rent is safer, IMHO.