My strategy so far and my question.

8 Replies

I am in Fort Hood Texas and I was looking around to buy and hold a duplex as an owner occupant in Killeen, Harker Heights, or Copperas Cove. I am going to use my VA loan so I won't have to put anything down and I was going to make sure not to look for anything over 95,000. So my problems are that sense I am around a military post there are always hundreds of rental options. I don't know how I would make my unit stand out or how to market the unit effectively and I don't have an exit strategy. Any help at all would be greatly appreciated and be sure to tell me if I've missed anything crucial. This will be my first buy and I am no expert.

You can contact a local management company to manage your property once you get it.   

1.  Make sure it cash flows and puts money in your pocket monthly

2.  Know what it cost you on a monthly basis to operate that property

3.  Call 3 local real estate professionals and 3 management companies to see what areas are in demand and what avg rents area.   

4.  Getting someone close to nice schools and shopping is always a plus.   

5.  Contact the professionals above to see how quickly the area is appreciating.   If you wish to sell in 2 to 4 years, this is important.   

If you follow this link there are several articles that will show you about duplexes, how to buy/sell and care for them.   

http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/?s=duplexe...

Welcome to Bigger Pockets

@Marshall Holmes  I think the biggest thing is do you have extra money for emergencies and vacancies that will arise with your property? When the property is rented, will you cash flow? 

As far as standing out, I would suggest to go around and look at the other properties for rent and see what they offer for the price. Now you just need to offer at minimum the same or update your units a little more than the competition and/or lower the rent slightly below market.

George

Welcome to Biggerpockets!